Why did YouTube close my account?

4.9 (97.14%) 7 votes

If you have a website and you have been using YouTube as a method of driving traffic to your website, then you may want to take note. It would appear that Google – who have owned YouTube since late 2006 – are on a mission to clean up the internet by ridding it of spam and ensuring that all content created and published by webmasters is ‘useful’ to those who are reading it.

For many years, thousands upon thousands of people have been complaining that their YouTube accounts have been terminated with not so much as a warning, an explanation or any hope of getting them back. Today there seem to be no signs of things changing, as it is estimated that Google permanently deletes over 10,000 YouTube accounts every single day.

 

Why is this Happening?

Google’s official explanation for the sudden removal of accounts and uploaded videos is that such content is in violation of one or more of over a dozen different policies that they have created and enforced over the years. These policies have been designed and created in order to ensure that all videos uploaded are suitable for the YouTube audience.

As a result, all videos that are uploaded to the website are monitored in order to ensure that they do not violate any of these policies. Depending on the nature of the content of the video, it may be subject to further moderation and in many cases even manual review. YouTube account holders who upload too many videos that violate the strict policies will find that they are promptly banished from the website, and any subsequent accounts created afterwards – regardless of the actual content of the videos uploaded – will suffer from the same fate.